DIY and Crafts · Uncategorized

Halloween Notebook💀

Hey Guys!

I’ve decided that this is my favourite DIY! I absolutely love this and hope you guys do too. You can make this as creepy or as Normal as you like. That’s what’s so good about it, it doesn’t have to be Halloween themed you can really do anything.

1

Method:

 

  1. Sketch out the Skull design onto paper so you can use it as a template. I wanted mine to look creepy so I chose a pretty scary skull but you can draw it however you want.
  1. Once you’re happy with the sketch you can cut that out using your scalpel or scissors if you prefer them, I’m using a scalpel because of the small details

20161018_235405

  1. Grab your craft foam and draw around the paper template you have just drawn and cut out. I decided to draw out an extra set of teeth and the part of the nose.
  1. Once you’re happy with the drawn outline on the foam you can now cut that out, I recommend using a scalpel as it is easier to cut out the smaller details.
  1. Now using the mod podge glue the foam to the notebook cover and then glue the extra teeth and nose on top of that. As you can see from the picture I only used the top set of teeth because it didn’t look right with both on it.
  1. Plug in your glue gun and allow it to heat up. Once it is heated you can then add an outline onto the skull, don’t forget to add in any details too.
  1. Allow that a minute to dry completely and while that is drying take a sheet of tissue paper and crumple it into a ball then unravel it. This will give the look of an old wore out book.
  1. Cover the whole notebook cover in a layer of mod podge, after that add the unravelled tissue paper. Slightly smooth it out not to remove the creases just to make sure that it covers the notebook.
  1. Next add another layer of mod podge over the tissue paper using it to smooth the tissue paper around the detailed parts such as the teeth and nose.
  1. Once that has fully dried you can then move onto painting it. Firstly paint the whole cover black and allow it to dry. It should only take one coat of paint. As soon as that has dried you can now take the silver paint and go around the outline of the skull and detailed parts. Also use a small bit of the silver to act as a highlight on the cover wherever you feel it is needed.
  1. Once you’re happy with the paint you can now move onto the last step which is adding another layer of mod podge onto the whole cover.

20161020_1844080

 

That’s us finished. It was a lot easier to make this than I expected it to be which is always a plus for a DIY!

img_20161020_150127

Anyway I had a lot of fun making this and I really love how it turned out, I’d love to know what you thought of it.

Hope you all enjoyed this, I’ll see you next time

 

Rebecca 👻🎃

2 thoughts on “Halloween Notebook💀

  1. So much fun! I’m totally obsessed with notebooks so I can definitely see myself using a craft like this to change things up. I’m looking forward to seeing more lovely, creative things from you. All the best for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment