DIY and Crafts · Uncategorized

DIY Sock Monkey🙊

Hey guys!

I’ll be showing off another DIY gift that I’ve been seeing all over Pinterest and that I was desperate to try! I’ll be honest this one is a lot easier than it looks. I thought it would be really difficult but I managed it okay.

I’m actually going to be making this as a gift for my little dog, he absolutely loves teddies and it’s really difficult to find ones that aren’t made of a funny material or covered in fur so it’ll be perfect for him!

 

You will need:

  • 1 pair of socks (whatever colour)
  • Stuffing
  • Scissors
  • Thread (colour depending on the socks)
  • Needle
  • Pins (if needed)

 

Here’s what you need to do:

 

  1. Lay the socks out flat as shown in the picture. With one of the socks flatten it out the opposite way so the heel is facing upwards and cut a line up the sock stopping a few inches down from the heel, these will be the legs. Round off the bottom of the legs so it’ll look a bit more like feet.
  1. With the other sock cut around the heel just as shown in the picture. Using the straight part you have removed from the heel cut that down the middle and this will make the arms of the monkey.
  1. From the other section cut out the heel and that will be used as the mouth, then also cut a piece similar to the arms and this will act as the tail. With the part you have left cut out four small semi circles for the ears. After that you should be able to see the monkey when you put everything together (like in the picture)

1

  1. Before you start to stuff the teddy you need to sew pieces such as the arms and tail but remember and leave a gap open so you can put the stuffing in. Once you’ve done this you can start to stuff the teddy and sew up any gaps left once you are happy with it.

2

  1. The next part is to sew the arms, mouth, tail, and ears onto the main body of the monkey. I found it a lot easier using pins first so I could get everything into the right place.

3

  1. Now for the last part which I found was the hardest part of this DIY, Sewing on the eyes and mouth. If you would rather have buttons for eyes then you can do that I just did it this way so it was safer for my dog.
  1. I just started by sewing a circle first as a guideline the started filling it keeping the stitching straight and going in the same direction (I also sewed a little bit of white to add a shine to the eye). Then sewing on the mouth was just a simple line.

4

I think this little teddy is so cute and I’m pretty proud having hand stitched the whole thing.

p.s If you noticed that I have two different colours of nail polish on its because I made this over a few days and I change my nails so much (:L) ( probably too much)

 

I really hope you enjoyed this, let me know what you think and I’ll see you next week for the next blog

 

Rebecca

 

7 thoughts on “DIY Sock Monkey🙊

  1. Pingback: DIY Sock Kitten

Leave a Reply

