No bake Dog Treats

Hey everyone!

 

So I thought I would dedicate this week’s posts to the one little man that makes me as happy as I am, My little dog Cheeko or cheeks as I like to call him.

Trying to find him treats is the most difficult thing in the world. He is so fussy with his food and treats and we have tried him with so much and he still only has like two or three favourites. So I thought, whats the harm in trying to make him some.

 

For this you will need:

  • Natural plain yogurt
  • Smooth peanut butter

20160914_210811

These are really simple to make too because they don’t have to be baked you just have to freeze them until they are ready.

 

Step 1:

All you have to do is mix together the natural yogurt and the peanut butter, the ratio is 2 of natural yogurt to 1 of the peanut butter.

For the mixture I made I used 4 tablespoons of natural yogurt and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. Make sure the peanut butter is at room temperature that way it is easy to mix them together.

Step 2:

You can either use a rubber ice cube tray to shape the treats or you can use a piping bag to pipe blobs onto grease proof paper and then just freeze that.

I have an ice cube tray in the shape of bottles so I decided to use that.

Using a spoon I filled the tray and also used the back of the spoon to push the mixture into the tray and once id done that I used my palette knife and smoothed the top of the mixture to remove any excess.

Step 3:

Freeze them for at least 30 minutes, just until they are solid enough and won’t just make a mess if they slightly melt.

 

Before we get into testing the treats, here is a little background on my puppy (who isn’t really a puppy because he’s 4 but I always call him it anyway). Well this is cheeks.

He absolutely loves the sunshine which living in Scotland doesn’t really appear much, but the minute the sun is out he is in my garden and that’s where he stays the full day! Honestly trying to get him inside is just impossible.

He is spoiled but he’s more like a child to me than my dog. He is just the most amazing little guy in the world.

 

Okay so the testing…

This one wasn’t a success, he sniffed it licked it once and pulled the funniest face. He really wasn’t a fan of it, i think hes the only dog I know that doesn’t like peanut butter. But they didn’t go to waste my neighbour’s dog loved them!

Well I have one more try, so on that note I will see you on Thursday for the next dog treat I’ll try to make.

 

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

